How do you think a client, customer or resident feels when they walk into your well maintained high rise building, move to use the elevator and it either doesn’t work or traps them somewhere along their journey?

Obviously the would not be too impressed with your management skills and they will make their opinions known and very loudly too.

Some elevator problems are easier to detect than others. Downtime and slow movement are the usual signs of a more serious problem.

Here are a few telltale signs your elevator is about to fail:

  1. Slow Movement / Longer Wait Time

This is usually the most common indication that the control system is developing problems.  The elevator speed should be checked regularly and at intervals even outside of routine servicing schedules. Compare the time it takes the elevator to move from ground floor to the top floor to the manufacturer’s specifications. Note that the older the elevator, the more likelihood of slowing down as time goes by. A more permanent and proactive solution would be to change from a relay based system to a microprocessor based control system.

 

  1. Poor Quality Power Supply

Modern elevators are filled with equipment that are sensitive to power supplied. If the quality pf power is poor or fluctuates rapidly it will interfere with performance and eventually cause expensive to repair damage.

Check your records to detect if there have been past frequent incidents of motor burn outs and overheating of other electronic equipment in the premises. If that has been the case you should quickly arrange for a power quality audit.

escalator

  1. Repeated Breakdowns

This is a fairly common indicator of an impending major downtime and service failure. It points to aging of the essential components of the elevator system. An elevator that is having repeated breakdown may require overhauling or outright modernization.

One of the most common symptoms of a system in need of overhaul or modernization is increasing service call frequencies. As components wear and age, they more readily go out of adjustment, either shutting down the system or interfering with its operation.

All things considered, a wise facility manger will ensure he/she keeps track of the frequency of all problems. Periodic review of the records will help foresee bigger problems before they occur.

# Course Title Next Scheduled Date
1 TRAINING FOR FACILITY MANAGERS Thursday, June 29, 2017
2 Facility Management Career And business Training Tuesday, May 30, 2017
3 Facility Management Master Class Tuesday, October 24, 2017
4 Emergency Preparedness & Business Continuity Workshop Friday, March 24, 2017
5 Building Commissioning Operational Readiness Wednesday, March 22, 2017
6 Energy Management and Sustainability Workshop Friday, March 10, 2017
7 Facility Services Contracting & Procurement Workshop Wednesday, March 1, 2017
8 Asset Management /CMMS Workshop Thursday, March 23, 2017
9 Plumbing and Sewage Systems Maintenance Practical Training Friday, March 17, 2017
10 Generator & Electrical Maintenance Practical Training Thursday, March 16, 2017
11 Air-conditioning Maintenance Practical Training Wednesday, March 15, 2017
12 Facility Management Strategy Thursday, August 10, 2017
13 IFMA CERTIFIED FACILITY MANAGER  CREDENTIAL TRAINING Wednesday, July 26, 2017
14 Facility Maintenance Management Wednesday, June 14, 2017
15 Workplace Productivity Training Tuesday, May 23, 2017
16 Facility Management Operation (FMO) Wednesday, August 2, 2017
17 IFMA FACILITY MANAGEMENT ESSENTIALS Tuesday, July 4, 2017
18 IFMA FACILITY MANAGEMENT PROFESSIONAL CREDENTIAL TRAINING Monday, July 17, 2017
19 FACILITY MANAGEMENT MASTER CRAFT PROGRAM Tuesday, August 1, 2017